Commissioners & Staff

The District Commissioners consist of local farmers and landowners who are elected to their position.  Every month, the district meets to discuss various issues, including local cost share budgets, new conservation plans, CRP approvals, and district budgets.  The commissioners work in close contact with the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship- Division of Soil Conservation and Water Quality (IDALS-DSCWQ) to disperse cost-share funds for various practices. The district is in charge of the list and rules for all state cost share practices.

The district also approves all CRP contracts within the District for the USDA NRCS.  This is another way that the USDA assures the funding they give these projects goes to help conservation resources.

The district, along with the Buchanan Co. FSA committee and other local committee, has set up priorities, cost-share rates, and a ranking system for the EQIP Program. Practices for EQIP range from waterway construction, pasture management, to wildlife habitat, wetland restoration, and hoop building for crops.

Streambank Stablization

District Commissioners:

  • Doug Kaiser - Chairperson
  • Becky Lindsay - Vice-Chairperson
  • Tim Halligan - Treasurer
  • Bob Muchmore - Co-Treasurer
  • Sean Dolan
  • Richard Sloan - Assistant Commissioner
  • Julie Althaus - Conservation Assistant

District Staff:

completed compost